Mexico City Aztecs

Ownership Group
Joey Ramos Lynn
Founder, Co-Owner
Mike Daggs

History of the Aztecs

The Mexico City Aztecs were founded in 2015 as the Santa Fe Gorillas in the Simulation Football League.  Team founder Joey Ramos Lynn, known around the league as "Ramos", lead the Gorillas to the season 5 championship game in their inaugural season, losing only by 1 point to the D.C. Dragons 31-30.  Season 6 would not go quite as well, with the Gorillas ending the season with a 3-9 record.  Ramos would learn a lot from that season, as it would prove to be the only losing season the franchise would see so far in their 15 season history.
In 2017 at the start of season 8 the Santa Fe Gorillas would rebrand as the Mexico City Aztecs.  In Season 9, the Aztecs would go on to win it all taking home the championship victory.  The franchise is one of the most successful in league history having made the playoffs in every season but one.  

#12 Matt Willson - Quarterback

Hall of Fame quarterback Matt Willson joined the Aztecs back in season 6.  He had one of the most storied careers in league history of any quarterback, being the first in league history to reach the 50,000 passing yard mark in season 20.  Matt tragically passed away on July 15, 2022 at the young age of 41 years old.  His jersey number 12 has been retired, and the Aztec's home stadium was renamed Estadio Matt Willson in his honor.

Season 9 Championship Game